Hot? Tranny? Mess?

This is one of the things I mentioned I’d have to show you – I recently had the lining of the sleeves of my Zara blazer replaced with a graphic Pendleton-esque print.

I’ve literally been keeping my eye out for the right print for months – I bought this blazer back in March. I was thinking of going for an abstract floral, but nothing was working out, so when I passed by this t-shirt in Zara I grabbed it up without thinking. I love the Native-American inspired pattern and the punch of the colors, but being the most indecisive person ever, I’m of course now second-guessing my choice. Considering how much fun I had trying to explain what I wanted to my tailor though, I think I’ll hold out on making any revisions until I get back to the states.

Living in Asia has had the effect of making me much more comfortable taking fashion risks, risks here being a relative term. Male Korean and Chinese pop stars routinely appear in editorials and promotional materials wearing makeup or eccentric costumes that make Lady Gaga look run-of-the-mill. This isn’t to say that I suddenly feel the urge to wear coats shaped like animals or iridescent styrofoam breastplates, but I’m learning to buy what I like, regardless of its sensibility. This is especially true here in China, where hunting for hidden treasures can be really rewarding and is always inexpensive. Vintage is hard to find even in the big cities and is nonexistent in Qingdao, so I have to get my kicks by getting crafty and thinking outside the box. Hence my numerous trips to the tailor and my new ring, a rusty metal band with three stacked triangles thats feels decidedly Gareth Pugh with its gothic alien symbolism vibe. I don’t know when it’s technically appropriate to wear, or what it best goes with…but I love it and it cost 1.50USD.

A further example of China’s unexpected disregard for femininity-phobic men’s fashion is this editorial called Candy Boys, from Elle China‘s September issue. Styled by none other than the best-named woman in fashion and possibly all of Asia Leaf Greener, the images feature a man modeling women’s clothing and accessories from Celine, Balenciaga and Givenchy, to name a few.

I’m not entirely sure what the goal is – to sell high heels to men? Celine has shown some decidedly unisex totes as of late, but I don’t notice a lot of men here (or anywhere) clamoring for leather leggings and artfully chunky knits. Either way, it’s a refreshing perspective and a fun one to find in a country so closely associated with…let’s call it uniformity, to say the least.

One thought on “Hot? Tranny? Mess?

  1. Pingback: My New Obsession…Hats « The S.S. Santiago

Leave a Reply

