A Day at VitraHaus, Weil am Rhein, Germany

We drove over to Germany the other day to see the Vitra Design Museum, but ended up just exploring the VitraHaus for a hew hours. VitraHaus, as we found out on our self-guided tour, is basically a really awesome shop. The building was designed by Herzog & de Meuron and inside are a bunch of awesomely designed gorgeous little things (and big things) that are all for sale. I got to put my feet up on an Eames lounge chair and was stunned by the price of just about everything. They had a lot of pieces by Dutch artist Hella Jongerius, with whom I first became familiar back in May at Beijing’s Today Art Museum, where I watched a video about her pottery collections for IKEA. There were some other works of hers on display and later I read an article about some art collector buying her frog table piece (see photo here for this to make sense). Then I saw some works of hers at the Expo’s Netherlands pavilion and, well, there she was again at this German design museum. !!! small world. Let’s see, then also there was that photo thing where I got to take my picture and represent Amerrca…and all those assorted leathers are for people who have ten billion jillion dollars and come to VitraHaus to get customized modern furniture. What was the one thing I heard being ordered over the phone…I forget! Oh no, I wanted to remember that. Well, I did hear an order being taken, so buying this stuff happens. There were also a lot of cool books and basically I sat on everything ever and touched anything three dimensional. When I was in the gift shop I was looking at these bags that were made of paper, but looked like leather. I touched them and they all fell on my head. While I was picking them up I knocked over some hand cream with my hat and had to pick that up as well. I’m pretty sure the people behind me were laughing. And outside in another building they were having a feature exhibit about Chinese architecture…you can’t escape China! And then I saw a car I thought looked cool.

One thought on “A Day at VitraHaus, Weil am Rhein, Germany

  1. Pingback: These Are A Few Of My Favorite Things « The S.S. Santiago

Leave a Reply

