Cruel Summer

I don’t think I made it clear with my previous post about Chinese seasonal “trends” (see here) that summer in China brings with it some idiosyncratic style – to say the least. A friend of mine assumed that the exposed ankle-hose was the mistake of an older generation. The next day I saw them on one of my eight-year-old students. I see them on old women, middle-aged women, children – you name it. Below you’ll find another example of said trends, the exposed stomach. Men like to heft up their shirts to expose their bellies (and sometimes nipples! but only if you’re lucky) as a way to, I’m assuming, cool off. Again, this faux paus is an indulgence of young and old, should know better and could probably have figured it out by now. Try not to overheat.

Leave a Reply

