The PRC is 61 and I’m Celebratin’ Down South

So now I’m in Sichuan province at a hostel in Chengdu, China. Tomorrow marks the beginning of the National Holiday here, when China celebrates its rebirth as the PRC and over 200 million people flood the mass transit systems. I’m hoping I’ll catch the Leshan giant Buddha tomorrow morning – I remember I saw it on TV, that which validates all things, from Snuggies to Jessica Simpson, so it must be worth my while. Also on the agenda: pandas!

2 thoughts on “The PRC is 61 and I’m Celebratin’ Down South

  1. Lily and I held a baby panda at the Chengdu preserve. It’s a magical place!
    Then it was on to Lhasa from there for us. 2004, she was 8 years old.
    Steve and I just returned from our first trip (8days) to Paris!
    I’m loving the posts from you, Sean. You are a born ex-pat!

  2. I hope you’re having a good time honey! Did you see the Great Wall? Be careful amongst that many people!!! Love you!

Leave a Reply

