Being There: Paris

These are the last shots from Paris, except for the now backlogged second installment of shopping in Paris.

It was quite interesting to find a book called “Amerikkka” (note that this is tome 7, “objectif Obama.” Oh, good.) I also like the sign for “tampon plastification,” although I know it’s not really about, um, plastifying (?) your women’s hygiene products – tampon has something to do with making stuff tamper-proof. And how great is the movie title Bébé Mode de Emploi? (Although the French don’t come across particularly adept at translating movie titles, huh?) I wonder if that’s also the title of a parenting book in France. A parenting book for babies that come from Ikea. And of course it’s great that Starbucks‘ card readers say ‘Bonjour’.

Paris was a lot of fun. I was there ten years ago with my father and we stayed in a hostel near Montmartre. I remember slipping in the rain and eating croque monsieur. This trip was also cold and wet, so I’ve resolved not to return to Paris until it’s summer, as I can’t say I fell in love with the city like I thought I would. I told my mom that I’d be camping out on French Vogue’s doorstep until they hired me (to do what?), but I have to admit that I didn’t feel the compunction within city limits. But I just watched Vicky Cristina Barcelona so now I have an idealized and not-planted-in-my-head-by-factual-representations compulsion to move to Barcelona. It’s probably a spiritual thing and you wouldn’t understand.

Paris is an attractive place, of course, don’t get me wrong, and I loved the people I stayed with. Couchsurfing on this trip (as a whole) went the best it’s gone so far. My first hosts in Paris I found on the site and they were absolutely charming, had a delightful place, and took me out for vin chaud the first night I was there. My last two days in Paris (ah! Two Days in Paris, have you seen the Julie Delpy movie? I highly recommend it) I stayed in the apartment of a girl I’d met in Basel, an incredibly nice and totally awesome girl, obviously, whose apartment  was very rustic French country kitchen à la that one episode of AbFab when Eddie and Patsy go to France. She had a potluck on Thursday night and I met some of her friends, who were gracious and totally righteous enough to invite me over to their place the next night for dinner (and chocolate-chip cookies).

Of course, it wasn’t all rainbows and puppies. My travails at the train station are detailed here, and the trip to Amsterdam had a bit of a rough start as well. More on that…sooon!

P.S. I recently found a bunch of my mother’s old photos, including a ton from a trip she took to Europe thirty years ago! It was really magical to find them just days after coming back from my own Euro-trip, so I was inspired to start an entirely new project called Photos From My Mother (did I mention I’m currently unemployed and have a lot of time on my hands?). Photos from her trip to Paris are up now!

Leave a Reply

