There’s No Place Like Home

Just a brief photoessay as I prepare to take off! Because my dad’s been keeping the fridge stocked with blueberries so I can stay antioxidized…because I love waking up in the morning to the beep of the coffee machine and knowing someone else made it for me…because I’ll miss the details of my Southern-fried house…and the view from my back porch, particularly when early morning sunlight is flooding through, but even when it’s raining…because I’ll really miss my dad’s cooking – in particular his meatloaf…because finding space for my magazines in a studio apartment is going to get interesting…because I won’t be around to witness further manifestations of my dad’s kooky taste (that’s a bead on a lamp shade)…because it’ll be a struggle to break bad habits and stay clutter-free…because I’ll miss the items that have been around longer than I have…because I won’t have trouble getting to the French doors anymore thanks to my mom’s inexplicable penchant for indoor plants…and because for awhile there it was nice living with the past and remembering…but now it’s time to move on!

7 thoughts on “There’s No Place Like Home

  1. Evocative essay, Sean. Love the last pic.
    Changing the subject…I watched Jean Paul Belmondo in “Breathless” last night. Wow, he brings you to mind…

  2. Pingback: Girlfriends, Antiques & What I Wore « Kankan

Leave a Reply

